OWE, She, & Stage Names

Had so much fun with my dance sisters performing this past weekend at the Old West End Festival and at She ~ A Celebration of Women. :)

First was the Old West End Festival from noon to one. I always love performing at this one, but lots of sunblock is always required. One year, I forgot sunblock and the pattern of my very elaborate necklace was tanned into my chest. o_O

But despite tanning mishaps, it’s such a fun venue. There’s always a really great crowd who really get into the performances, it’s one of the places I get to eat/dance with fire, and we normally have time afterwards to wander the festival.

For those not familiar with Toledo’s Old West End, it’s a historic district with a lot of cool houses, an awesome bed and breakfast (Mansion View Manor), is near the Toledo Museum of Art, and a bunch more. Bonus: during the festival a lot of people have yard sales, so you can wander the neighborhood, look at cool houses, and do some shopping. :)

But I digress — I think the Aegela dancers made a pretty strong showing at the festival. I was proud of my tribal (ATS®) students during our improv number and it was great to see some of the choreos the other ladies have been working on, plus, Aegela did a sword number! It was the first time I’ve seen her do sword. :)

After OWE, a contingent of us dashed off to She ~ A Celebration of Women held at Fat Fish Blue in Perrysburg. We, unfortunately, arrived towards the end, so we didn’t get to see many of the other performances, but that’s how it goes when you have more than one performance in a day. We did get to see Becca Nease, who was AMAZING and is now my favorite local musician — very powerful voice, but not overblown. She played acoustic guitar and the harmonica and rocked out a few songs, including among others: Jewel’s “Who Will Save Your Soul”, C-Lo’s “Crazy”, and an original song (my favorite!). Since she plays the harmonica, I’d love to hear what she could do with some Blue’s Traveler. She has some samples of original work on her Facebook page, so I hope she comes out with an album soon.

While we were waiting to perform, a somewhat odd thing happened, and if anyone has an opinion on it, I’d love to hear it. A Blade photographer came up to our group to get our names for the paper. I gave her my dance name and she asked for my last name. I explained that “Calliope” was my dance/stage name, thinking she would take that as sufficient, but she pressed me for my legal name. I thought the point of a stage name was to use it in situations like this? I kinda stared at her confused because Aegela had just given her the name “Aegela” and she didn’t ask her for a last name. The photographer gave up after a bit and moved on to the next dancer, leaving me a bit relieved. I honestly wasn’t trying to be difficult, but I’d prefer all press mentions of me as a dancer reference my dance name and not my legal name. Have any of you other dancers run into this? Was I supposed to give her my legal name, too, or was the photographer just not well-versed in how to handle dance/stage names?

The Aegela Dancers were the last performance of She and we were all honored to be included in such an empowering event for women. If they have another event, I sincerely hope we are invited back.

Plug for the studio: our annual showcase is coming up on Saturday, June 22nd. Tickets are limited, so if you’d like to come, you can get ordering info at www.aegela.com. We hope to see you there! :)

Lamp

Awesome lamp at the Grape Leaf Diner

Side note: some of us went to the Grape Leaf afterwards and they had these lamps: If anyone knows where such lamps can be purchased, let me know!

About jbakstudios

Generally speaking, is sunshine, butterflies, and crayons, covered in spikes and clad in black. ^_^ Photographer, Belly Dancer, Artist, Yogini, Shibari-ka, Silk-dyer, Geek, and Marshmallow wrangler.
This entry was posted in Belly Dance, Local Review and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

