Two of my loves: dance & animation

Wednesdays here at the J. Bak Studios blog are normally reserved for bellydance, but this week, I wanted to showcase a non-bellydance dance animation video that gives me the shivers (in a good way).

I was one of those kids for which animation struck some kind of vital and primal chord. For whom, even though I knew they weren’t actually real, cartoons were, in some ways, more real than live-action shows and they reached some very deep part of me. Scott McCloud has some interesting things to say about this phenomenon in his book Understanding Comics.

So, when really well done animation is combined with music and dance (two things that touch me down to my soul), I think the result is magical.

I hope you enjoy the magic, too. :)

Thought of You from Ryan J Woodward on Vimeo.

About jbakstudios

Generally speaking, is sunshine, butterflies, and crayons, covered in spikes and clad in black. ^_^ Photographer, Belly Dancer, Artist, Yogini, Shibari-ka, Silk-dyer, Geek, and Marshmallow wrangler.
This entry was posted in Belly Dance and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

